The Pink Hammer Blog

From Dresser to TV Stand in under 60 minutes

6 Comments

I have been slow on blog posts over the past few months due to a very busy Summer, along with moving into a new house.     Today as I was doing some more unpacking and organizing, I was putting away some DVD movies in the tv stand we have in our upstairs main living room, and I decided it was time to change up the tv stand.

I looked around the house for pieces that I could use as a TV Stand that would give me the storage I needed for DVD’s, playstation games, remotes, and even some board games, when I spotted this beautiful white dresser in our basement (where it still hadn’t found a specific place or use in our new home yet).

I then decided that since my walls in the living room were white, that I needed a touch of color, so I gave myself a timer- set it to 60 minutes, grabbed a random gallon of paint I had in my tool room, and got to painting.

Dresser Before; IMG_8609wm

Dresser after paint;       IMG_8615wm
 

DSC_5295wm

I kept the original  drawer pulls so I was spending $0.00  today for this project;
DSC_5296wm

The dresser is painted in a very soft green It is hard to tell in these photos the exact color, but I promise you it looks lovely in the corner of my living room, and the TV fits perfectly on top.

IMG_8616wm

IMG_8618wm

IMG_8621wm
DVD’s fit perfectly inside of the dresser drawers.  The dresser helps keep things organized and messy dvd piles out of sight;

IMG_8624
So there you have it,  I found myself yet again making a small project , like organizing movies, into a bigger project, like painting a dresser and turning it into the TV Stand,  but by giving myself a no money budget limit and a 60 minute time length, I was not slaving away to a lengthy or pricey project!

How will you re-use a dresser in your home!?  Share with me in the comments.
Thanks for reading,
~Kelly

6 thoughts on “From Dresser to TV Stand in under 60 minutes

  1. Great work Kelly!! I used to do the same thing at my old job. I would have to build things out of just what we had around the shop, with ZERO dollars!! Not even for screws!! My nickname was “MACIVER” I never tried to do it with just a 60 minute limit. I WAS getting paid by the hour!!! LOL

  2. Love the makeover! The light green is so pretty.

  3. I just did this too! Love the fact that dressers offer so much storage.

  4. What a great idea! I’ve been looking looking around for fun ideas for a TV stand, and this one is aweseome! Thank you for sharing!!
    Eliza @ lizalouloves.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

