The Pink Hammer Blog

From broken rake to rustic wine glass holder. | Simple DIY.

6 Comments

“I cook with wine, sometimes I even add it to the food!!” ~H.

Last Summer, my old trusty garden rake handle snapped in half on me. Maybe my muscles are just too big or something and the rake couldn’t handle the pressure I was applying to it or maybe, it was just old -we’ll leave the actual cause a mystery. 😉

Most people would throw away the metal part of the rake that was left, but not this girl. I knew I could find some use for it, so I tucked it away in my bin of project pieces and it’s new use would be discovered at another time.

1 year later while cleaning out my basement, I came across that rake again. I brought it upstairs, set it on the table and looked at it for a while- thinking about what I could do with it. I love the texture of it and the shape of it, so I thought it would look neat hanging on the wall.

There is sat, proudly hanging on the wall next to my hutch, full of my favorite glass pieces, and wine glasses.

Hmm….wine glasses.

Then, it hit me.

I could use the old rake as a vintage/rustic/country style wine glass holder.

With these simple steps below, you can do the same!

PROJECT: How to turn a rusty old rake into a rustic wine glass holder.
PROJECT LEVEL: Easy
PROJECT COST: $5.00 (Or cost of rake. Check your local antique stores, flea markets & thrift stores, don’t forget Grandpa’s garage)
PROJECT SUPPLIES: Sad & broken old rake, wine glasses, & don’t forget the wine!

How to turn an old metal rake into a rustic wine glass holder:

1.) Find an old rake, I have seen hand fulls of these at most antique stores. [If you can’t find one, pick up a new metal hand rake from any store for under $5.00 snap or saw off the handle, and sand the metal down a bit to give it an aged look, or even spray paint a cool color.]

2.) If you want to add a little something extra to your rake, cut some twine or ribbon and simply wrap it around the top-where it will hang from the wall.

3.) Hang your rake on your wall, on the side of a cupboard, or wherever your heart desires & add wine glasses.

4.) Sit back, look at your new creation & of course-enjoy a nice glass of wine!

I hope you enjoyed reading this simple way to add rustic charm into your home!

Thanks for reading…
Cheers,
~Kelly

Tip Junkie handmade projects

6 thoughts on “From broken rake to rustic wine glass holder. | Simple DIY.

  1. This would be a great idea for outdoor rustic wedding — especially a reception in a vineyard.

  2. What a cute idea. FYI – your garden is beautiful! What are the yellow flowers behind the rake?

  3. Wine glasses that are made from crystal glass are the best. I always buy sparkling wine glasses on our local store and they really look great.,”..`

    Enjoy your weekend!
    http://www.caramoan.ph“>

  4. Pingback: Rake Wine Glass Holder

  5. Pingback: Top 12 blog posts of 2012 | First year in review « The Pink Hammer Blog

  6. Pingback: 10 DIY Home Decor Ideas | Dollar Store Mom Frugal Fun – Crafts for Kids

Leave a Reply

